Biden orders travel ban on most non-U.S. citizens from South Africa, extends Europe, UK, restrictions


Passengers arrive on a flight from London amid new restrictions to prevent the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) at JFK International Airport in New York, December 21, 2020.

Eduardo Munoz | Reuters


President Joe Biden banned most non-U.S. citizens traveling from South Africa from entering the U.S. and extended travel restrictions for Europe, the U.K. and Brazil, in an effort to curb the spread of Covid-19.

The measures, reported Sunday by CNBC, come as more contagious strains of the virus have spread.

Former President Donald Trump last week rescinded the entry bans on most non-U.S. citizens who had been in many countries in Europe, the U.K. or Brazil, but then-President-elect Biden’s spokeswoman said the new administration would quickly reverse that step.

Trump’s was supposed to take effect on Tuesday, when the U.S. will start requiring U.S.-bound travelers to show a recent, negative Covid test result before flying to the United States.

This is breaking news. Check back for updates.

Source link

Articles You May Like

Kohl’s (KSS) earnings Q4 2020 beat
J&J board member says 20 million Covid vaccine doses will be delivered by the end of March
Apollo Global bets on convention recovery in deal with Las Vegas Sands
Fed policy changes could be coming in response to bond market turmoil, economists say
‘Make in India’ campaign epitomises challenges facing US-India trade relationship: USTR Report

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *