Govt creates tech group to chart the tech landscape for India


New Delhi: The government has created an empowered Technology Group consisting of 12 members which will be headed the Principal Scientific Adviser to Government of India Professor K Vijay Raghavan. The Union Cabinet, chaired by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi approved the decision today.

“This Group is mandated to render timely policy advice on latest technologies; mapping of technology and technology products; commercialisation of dual use technologies developed in national laboratories and government R&D organisations; developing an indigenisation road map for selected key technologies; and selection of appropriate R&D programs leading to technology development,” said the statement issued by the Press Information Bureau.

The Constitution of Technology Group may address the issues of silo-centric approaches to development of technology, technology standards either not developed or applied, leading to sub-optimal industrial development, dual use technologies not being optimally commercialised, R&D programs not aligned to efforts at technology development and need for mapping of technologies important for applications in society and industry.


ET had reported earlier that VijayRaghavan also heads a committee on AI which is tasked with developing a roadmap for AI in the country. The committee also has representation from the secretary in the department of science and technology, the CEO of Niti Aayog and secretary of the ministry of electronics and IT. The government has also announced Rs. 8,000 funding for Quantum Computing in the Budget 2020.

Source link

Articles You May Like

Activist investor Jeff Ubben to join Exxon Mobil’s board
Easing Covid restrictions but keeping masks a good compromise
Inflation worries are rising, but there may be a happily ever after for markets in sight
Japanese manners and customs that every traveler to Japan should know
Kohl’s (KSS) earnings Q4 2020 beat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *